CONSTITUTION

NAME

CLADDAGH ASSOCIATION OF ADULT IRISH DANCE

AIMS AND OBJECTIVES

To develop and promote adult Irish dancing for the purpose of social activities and enjoyment, with the opportunity to prepare for demonstrations at social gatherings as requested, and partake in competitions.

To seek out further opportunities to continually promote the tradition of adult Irish Dance.

MEMBERSHIP

The association welcomes all adult newcomers on a quarterly basis, with or without experience.

The association is non-discriminatory and non-political and is open to all.

Members are asked to attend where possible whenever an official meeting of the association takes place.

Minimum age of 18

Welcome newcomers on a quarterly basis on the first Monday of each quarter - January, April, July, October (or the following Monday if that day is a bank holiday) and then weekly thereafter.

FEES

Class fees are £5.00 per week, payable by bank transfer.

No individual is paid for teaching the dancing. Class fees are collected for the purpose of the venue payment. Surplus money is used to benefit the whole group: i.e. for social activities and expenditures.

Notice of any proposed variation in these fees will be given in advance to all members.

TEACHING

Responsibility for teaching step dancing is shared between all the group attendees. Christine Mathewson is a registered ceili dance teacher and holds the TMRF qualification with 'An Coimisiun La Rinci Gaelacha – CLRG, this allows the Claddagh Association members to enter ceili competitions run by 'An Coimisiun'.

GROUP ACTIVITIES

The group meet once a week on a Monday evening between 7pm and 9pm. The venue is: Our Lady of Grace Parish Hall, 11 Fairfax Road, Prestwich, Manchester, M25 1AS

OFFICE BEARERS (committee Members)

There will be a Chairperson (or a floating chairperson) who will be responsible for chairing meetings, a Secretary who will keep minutes and a record of members and be responsible for correspondence, and a Treasure who will be responsible for keeping accurate accounts and making and receiving any payments on behalf of the group. In addition there will be an Assistant Treasurer, 2 Social Secretaries and a Social Media Secretary. Members are also asked to assist the committee members in their duties if required. Office-bearers shall be elected by majority vote of the members and may not remain in position for more than one year, after which time they may stand for reelection.

Committee members Dec. 2023- Dec 2024

Chair – Teresa McCarthy
Treasurer – Julie Carss
Vice Treasurer –
Secretary – Christine Mathewson
Social Secretary – Louise McMahon
Social Secretary –
Social Media Secretary –

Permanent Committee Positions (Agreed at the AGM on 5th Dec. 2016) are:

Website administrator – Held by Val Morgan Registered Ceili Teacher (TMRF) – Held by Christine Mathewson

Positions to be held for one year, after which committee members may stand for reelection.

MEETINGS

Meetings will be held twice a year, on agreed dates in January (AGM) and July. Other meetings will be arranged if necessary and members will be given a minimum of seven days notice. At any meeting the rights and views of each individual shall be respected and the meetings shall be conducted in a way that allows all individuals to participate without fear of intimidation.

At the Annual General Meeting in January, new members will be elected, reports will be received from the chairperson and treasurer, and any other business will be discussed.

FUNDS

Any funds will be the responsibility of the Treasure and any appointed assistants. The accounts will be available for examination on application at each quarterly meeting and a report will be given at the AGM.

DATE OF THE NEXT AGM

25th March 2024

ALTERATIONS TO THE CONSTITUTION

The constitution will be updated each year with information agreed by members at the AGM. Any other alterations to the Constitution will need a majority of members (reference will be made to the membership records).

DISSOLUTION

The group may at any time be dissolved by a resolution passed by two thirds majority of members. Such a resolution will provide for the distribution of any funds remaining.

This constitution was initially adopted on the $16^{\rm th}$ June 2008. Alterations other than date changes will only be made as noted above.